[Review] SUNNY

Sunny-02

This movie makes me think a lot about my future. What will I look like? Will I be rich or poor? Who’s my husband? Will I marry the wrong person? et cetera~

This is a high-recommended movie. Actually I watch it because of Kang Sora unnie, but then I realized that Sunny is a must-watch movie.

Unfortunately, I rent this DVD, so i can’t watch it thousands time like Confession of a Shopaholic u.u

Let me start with the synopsis::

New high-school transfer student Na-Mi (Shim Eun-Kyung) comes from a small town in Jeolla Province to her new school in the capital city of Seoul. When she is nervous, her small town dialect comes out & she starts to shake.On her first day at her new school she is bullied by others. Coming to her help is a group of girls. The girls are Chun-Hwa (Kang So-Ra) – known for her strong sense of loyalty & excellant fighting skills, heavyset Jang-Mi (Kim Min-Young) – who badly wishes to have plastic surgery to get double eye-lids, Jin-Hee (Park Jin-Joo) – excellent when it comes to spewing profanity, Geum-Ok (Nam Bo-Ra) – interested in literature, Bok-Hee (Kim Bo-Mi) – dreams of one day becoming Ms. Korea and Su-Ji (Min Hyo-Rin) – always arrogant. Na-Mi quickly becomes part of their group. When the group confronts rival girls known as Sonyeo Sidae (“Girls Generation”), Na-Mi spews curse words she picked up from her grandmother. Because of Na-Mi the girls are able to avoid a crisis. These seven girls then form their own group named “Sunny”. They also vow to stay together forever. The girls then prepare for a performance at an upcoming school festival, but on the day of their performance a terrible event occurs leading the girls to eventually going their own separate ways.

Twenty five years later, Na-Mi (Yoo Ho-Jeong) is married to a successful businessman and has a beautiful daughter. Her life seems perfect from afar, but there’s something lacking in her life. One day, Na-Mi bumps into high school friend Chun-Hwa (Jin Hee-Kyung) in the hospital. They are ecstatic to see each other, but Na-Mi receives a phone call and has to leave. On her way out she ask Chun-Hwa if there is anything she can do for her. Chun-Hwa at first says no, but after a moment of reflection she makes a simple request to Na-Mi. Chun-Hwa asks Na-Mi to find the other members of “Sunny,” so she can see them one more time …

(credit goes to asianmediawiki.com)

In the end, Chun Hwa passes away and gives all her belongings to her friends.

Their life was really hard when they were young. There’s another girls gang that always make them angry. They even fight and use weapon if necessary. That’s a violence, of course. They were so young and live a hard life like that. I can’t believe there’s life like that. It all end when graduation party, Suji got a scar on her cheek. Oh, you must watch it, but if you scare of blood you must cover you eyes when this scene appears.

I think a lot when I watch this movie. How can, Chun Hwa that always strong, a good leader, and always protect her members can be sick and looks so poor like that. But, in her condition, she still strong and show her leadership. Some of their members don’t live a good life. What an irony.

Kang Sora’s role, Chun Hwa impressed me a lot in this movie. I can’t help myself crying when she passes away. She’s so adorable and strong, there’s no way she can be weak because of an illness. Even her friends can’t help her at all. Sunny can support her but can’t help her. You know, how to fight with an illness?? You can fight it yourself.

Life is so unpredictable, things change everytime so easily. I’m afraid it will happen to me. I think and think again what will I be in the future. What if I’m in a condition when I don’t have a friend, who will support me? I might be in a condition when my friends can’t help me at all because my friends also have their own family and problems. Well, something like that.

Well, once again, this movie makes me think think and think a lot about my future. You know what? Even Super Junior worry about their future, I hope they won’t be like this movie. I hope they will live a good life with their family, and so will I.

Even you’re the strongest in your young life, doesn’t mean you will forever be strong. Maybe someday you will be the weakest one.

Life is about hard work, lucky factor just for that moment. You can’t count on it.

Well, life is hard, you know?

Comments
2 Responses to “[Review] SUNNY”
  1. Nasir says:

    Very nice review. I just finished watching the movie and then found this while searching about the movie on internet.
    It is indeed a touching movie. I am 25. Grown up enough, still finding solace in thinking I am young at mind, you know.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Life changes so easily.. Kita tidak tau apa yang akan terjadi beberapa hari lagi, beberapa bulan lagi… Seperti yang aku rasakan dan aku tulis ketika menonton film Sunny. […]



Leave a Reply

